Brief History

The Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences (FBMS), Enugu State University College of Medicine (ESUCOM) was created in 2014 during the tenure of the then Vice Chancellor, Prof. Cyprian Onyeji. The creation of the faculty which was facilitated by the immense support of the former Provost Prof. A.O.C Akpa after due consideration to the report of a panel headed by Prof Chike Anibeze, was born out of the desire to have a separate faculty which will effectively house other departments outside clinical medicine. These include the pre-clinical Departments of the College (Human Anatomy, Medical Biochemistry and Human Physiology) together with the new Departments/Programmes approved and running in the College (B.Sc, M.Sc, PhD Anatomy, Medical Laboratory Sciences and the soon-to-come B.Sc Nursing Sciences and Environmental health).

The former Provost of the College, Prof. A.O.C Akpa had at the swearing in ceremony of the 3rd batch of medical graduands on 19th October, 2013, announced the readiness of the College to split into two faculties (Faculty of Clinical Medicine and Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences). Hitherto, the College of Medicine had operated with one Faculty catering for both clinical and non clinical departments.

Thereafter, following the recommendation of the panel, a proposal was the submitted to the senate through the Vice Chancellor. It was finally approved at the Senate meeting giving vent to its take-off. Prof Chike Anibeze was appointed the foundation Dean for the faculty take-off. The immediate challenges became the problem of accommodation and basic infrastructure to house the new faculty. The Department of Anatomy came to the rescue and offered the new faculty a temporary sanctuary at the Anatomy Building. However, a new faculty building complex is currently being erected under TETFUND support. This four storey complex with a basement will house the Dean's office/secretariat, office apartments, lecture halls and some laboratories that will add to the existing infrastructure of the faculty.

With the preliminary platform of the faculty setout, the inaugural meeting of October 2014 marked the formal kick off of the faculty. The pioneer Faculty Officer was Dr. Linus C. Nnamani, while the current faculty officer is Mr. T. O Onyeama. The Faculty Examinations officer Mr. Emeka E. Neboh was appointed at the inaugural faculty board meeting. The faculty currently houses 2nd year and 3rd year medical students, 2nd year and 3rd year B.Sc Anatomy students and postgraduate M.Sc and PhD students in Anatomy. The medical students are expected to leave FBMS and move into the faculty of Clinical Medicine when they have passed the 2nd MBBS exams after 18 months intensive lectures, whereas the other students will stay in FBMS until graduation. The Faculty also covers the Basic Sciences Curriculum for the Faculty of Pharmacy Medical Laboratory Science, Nursing and Environmental Health students. Overall, the faculty does not compromise standard and also maintains zero-tolerance to examination malpractice as clearly enunciated in its faculty handbook.

The faculty has a very bright future owing to the dynamic leadership of the faculty and the caliber and dedication of Academic staff teaching the students.


To be a Faculty bastion of renewable educational resource for the production of high caliber graduates in the basic and health sciences.


  1. To provide a forum that will help students to develop their academic and latent potentials, while building on their weaknesses to improve their strength.
  2. To offer academic services of excellence to the students ensuring that they come out being champions in their different disciplines.
  3. To ensure the timely graduation of students and prompt attention to staff welfare.


To be a vibrant Faculty of academic learning.


Faculty Staff

Name: Prof Chike Anibeze

Rank: Professor of Anatomy & Cell Biology

Position: Dean, Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences

Phone: 08033180232


Name: Onyeama Osita .T.

Rank: A. R.

Position: Faculty Officer, Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences

Phone: 08033252333 and 08095775353


Name: Chukwu Chinwe Glory

Rank: Chief Executive Officer

Position: Dean's Office, Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences

Phone: 08068441213

Name: Okibe Esther Ngozi

Rank: Principal Executive Officer

Position: Dean's Office, Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences

Phone: 08060048073

Name: Ugwuegbe Francisca U.

Rank: Senior Executive Officer

Position: Dean's Office, Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences

Phone: 08035178179

Name: Chukwu Benedette .I

Rank: Head Office Attendant

Position: Dean's Office, Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences

Phone: 08033626807

Latest news

Wednesday, 28th September
Invitation to ESUCOM Public Lecture

On behalf of the Vice-Chancellor, the Provost, the Deans and the en ... Read more

Wednesday, 10th August
Faculty Seminar

A seminar on STEM CELL RESEARCH FOR THERAPEUTICS will hold at the A ... Read more

Wednesday, 15th June
Prof. A.U Nweze Delivers ESUT 22nd Inaugural Lecture

A perfect combination of eloquence, humor and erudition characteriz ... Read more

Wednesday, 15th June
Faculty of Clinical Medicine gets new Dean

On 25th April 2016, Prof. Frank Ezugwu was elected by the Faculty B ... Read more

Thursday, 17th March
Prof. Anibeze emerges SECAN President

Prof. Chike Anibeze has been elected the National President of the ... Read more