The College of Medicine Enugu State University of Science and Technology was established initially at Nsukka as a campus of the Enugu State University of Science and Technology with Prof. Asogwa Simon as the pioneer provost. At the instance of the then Governor Chimaroke Nnamani who undertook extensive infrastructural and manpower development of the present site of the college, the college moved from the Nsukka campus to the present site in 2004.

Following the formal full accreditation of the College with Prof. Nene Obianyo as the provost and Prof. Chidobem Ikechukwu as the Vice Chancellor, four sets of medical graduates had been produced in 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013 and 2014. The College maintained a one faculty College until 2015 when the faculty of Basic Medical Sciences was carved out of the faculty during the tenure of Prof. Cyprain Onyeji as the Vice Chancellor. There exist presently the faculty of Clinical Medicine with Dr. Ojioke C.J.G. as the pioneer and former dean.

The faculty now has five (5) streams of medical students in the 3rd, 4th and 5th MBBS sets inherited from the faculty of Basic Medical Sciences. With thirteen (13) departments and dedicated staff, the faculty is poised to ensure the continued training of medical doctors who can stand the challenges in academic, research and innovative cutting edge technologies in the general and specialized health care delivery both within and without the shores of the country, Nigeria. She co-operates maximally with the University Teaching Hospital whom it shares the same premises with in the realization of this goal. Our alumnus can really testify to the quality of the training they received by the accolades they have won typified by the case of NAME OF PERSON who came out tops in Harvard University Examinations.

The faculty is however handicapped to a great extent by manpower and infrastructural lack inspite of the University authorities and the Visitor's efforts to adequately provide her needs.


A global leader in healthcare learning and innovation. We will achieve this by:

  • Developing an inclusive world-class faculty, delivery of high impact healthcare system research, cutting edge innovation and high quality professional decorum.
  • Attracting, managing and retaining appropriate human capital with the ability to drive transformational healthcare delivery.
  • Networking and collaborating with cognate clinical faculties locally and internationally.


Our mission is to advance knowledge in healthcare associated with sustainability and academic wellbeing. We shall achieve this mission by taking integrated approach to clinical learning, research and innovation, specifically directed to course of relevance to Africa and to the world in general by:

  • We shall encourage our lecturers and researchers to build on latest knowledge and technology in order that their output would be connected to real African and world issues and challenges.
  • Our students, staff and researchers in collaboration with global partners and other stake holders shall imbibe knowledge and values in a supportive and leadership manner.

Admission requirement

  1. Five O'level passes at credit level or its equivalents in Physics, Chemistry, Biology, English Language and Mathematics at one (1) sitting for the award of MBBS and at not more than two (2) sittings for the award of B.Sc, in any of the Basic Sciences courses.
  2. Passes at H.SCE/GCE A'levels in physics, chemistry and Biology (Zoology) with a minimum of credit in English at ordinary level.

List of past Deans till date

Dr. Anthony I. Ugochukwu - Pioneer Dean 2000 - 2006
Prof. David C. Nwafo 2007 - 2008
Dr. Casmir J. G. Orjioke 2009 - 2016
Prof. F. O. Ezugwu 2016 till date

Staff in the Dean's office

Name: Mr. Francis Silas Okwor

Position: Faculty Officer/PAR

Phone No.: 08060441438

Email: fs.okwor@yahoo.com

Name: Iwenge Jane Nonyelum

Position: Confidential Secretary

Phone No.: 08167766219

Email: janejack2004@yahoo.com

Name: Ede Ifeoma Confidence

Position: Clerical Officer

Phone No.: 08130524410

Email: ifeomaconfidence@yahoo.com


Latest news

Wednesday, 28th September
Invitation to ESUCOM Public Lecture

On behalf of the Vice-Chancellor, the Provost, the Deans and the en ... Read more

Wednesday, 10th August
Faculty Seminar

A seminar on STEM CELL RESEARCH FOR THERAPEUTICS will hold at the A ... Read more

Wednesday, 15th June
Prof. A.U Nweze Delivers ESUT 22nd Inaugural Lecture

A perfect combination of eloquence, humor and erudition characteriz ... Read more

Wednesday, 15th June
Faculty of Clinical Medicine gets new Dean

On 25th April 2016, Prof. Frank Ezugwu was elected by the Faculty B ... Read more

Thursday, 17th March
Prof. Anibeze emerges SECAN President

Prof. Chike Anibeze has been elected the National President of the ... Read more